In addition to operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated and possessing an open container in a vehicle, Texas law also prohibits a number of alcohol offenses not related to motor vehicles. Specifically, charges for minors in possession of alcohol or public intoxication can lead to heavy fines and even jail time.
Creating a defense against these charges is a job for a skilled attorney with years of experience working with clients who have been accused of being minors in possession of alcohol. A defense attorney can explain your charges to you, and work towards a complete dismissal or reduction of charges.
Lawyer for Minors in Possession of Alcohol in Denton County, Texas
If you are 20 years old or younger and have been charged as a minor in possession of alcohol at the University of Northern Texas, Texas Women’s University, or another university in Denton County, contact the Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy today. Call (940) 222-8004 to set up a free consultation.
At your no-obligation consultation, you can speak with an experienced attorney who will work to ensure your rights and freedom. Located in the heart of Denton, the Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy accepts clients throughout the surrounding cities of Argyle, Carrollton, Sanger, Roanoke, and Lewisville.
Also, we accept clients from neighboring counties including Denton County, Cooke County, Wise County, Grayson County, Tarrant County, and Dallas County.
Minor in Possession of Alcohol Defined by Texas Code
Texas Code §106.05 states that a minor may not possess alcohol unless the following requirements are met under §106.05(b):
- The minor is employed by a licensee or permittee and this code does not prohibit said employment;
- The minor is under the immediate supervision of a commissioned peace officer who is enforcing this code;
- The minor has been provided with the beverage lawfully under §106.16; or
- The minor is in the visible presence of a spouse, guardian, adult parent, or another adult to whom the minor was committed by a court.
Penalties for Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
Possession of alcohol by a minor is categorized as a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $500. These penalties are enhanced if, at trial, the prosecution shows that the offender is a minor, non-child previously convicted twice or more times of an offense under this section.
When the aforementioned circumstances apply, a minor in possession of alcohol is punishable by up to 180 days in jail, $250 to $2,000 in fines, or a combination of the two. Related offenses often include DWI and public intoxication.
Social Service Agencies in the Denton County area – Visit the Social Service Agencies Directory of the Denton County website for more information on local substance abuse treatment centers or drug rehabilitation centers near you. The Denton County website provides contact information for various treatment facilities throughout the county and surrounding areas including Lewisville, Denton, Arlington, Argyle, Hickory Creek, Lake Dallas, Coppell, Fort Worth, Corsicana, Lake Dallas, and Justin. Also, find information on various help facilities for non-drug-related issues.
Find an Attorney for Minor in Possession of Alcohol Charges in Denton, Texas | Law Office of Richard C. McConathy
Being charged as a minor in possession of alcohol can be scary for most individuals, especially for college students worried that criminal charges will affect their schooling. If you or someone you know has been charged as a minor in possession of Alcohol in Denton or a neighboring city in Denton County, call the Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy immediately at (940) 222-8004 to get started on your defense.
This firm accepts those accused of alcohol-related offenses including DWIs in the cities of Carrollton, Sanger, Lewisville, Roanoke, and Argyle as well as neighboring counties including Dallas County, Tarrant County, Grayson County, Cooke County, and Wise County.
This article was last updated on December 30, 2016.